Population Statistic: Read. React. Repeat.
Wednesday, March 25, 2021

Deeming the old A-B-C-D-F grading system to be unfairly subjective, school districts across the land are adopting a numbered 1 (lowest) to 4 (highest) scale for test and report card marks.

So at some point, the old “A for effort” and similar expressions will be antiquated. That’s F-ed up…

The new grades are supposed to be less confusing, although as deployed in suburban New York, that’s an iffy claim:

In Pelham, the second-grade report card includes 39 separate skill scores — 10 each in math and language arts, 2 each in science and social studies, and a total of 15 in art, music, physical education, technology and “learning behaviors” — engagement, respect, responsibility, organization. The report card itself is one page, but it comes with a 14-page guide explaining the different skills and the scoring.

A report card that comes with an owner’s manual-like rubric? Who’s being tested here, the kids or the parental units?

Actually, even accounting for the inevitable friction during the change and adjustment period, I don’t understand why K-12 doesn’t just install the college-style grade point average (GPA). This 1-4 system is almost the same thing, except that it’s unnecessarily imprecise by not allowing half-point gradations. Since the kids are being prepped for eventual college learning anyway, they might as well have a consistent rating structure for their entire schooling experience.

by Costa Tsiokos, Wed 03/25/2009 11:07:03 AM
Category: Creative, Society
| Permalink | Trackback |

1 Feedback »
  1. I never had letter grades until college. I knew of them, but thought it was just something they did on tv because that’s how it used to be done. Guess it’s moving towards that.

    Comment by David — 03/27/2009 @ 01:18:09 AM

RSS feed for feedback on this post.

Say something!

PLEASE NOTE: Various types of comment moderation may be triggered once you hit the "Say It!" button below. Common causes for this are the inclusion of several hyperlinks and/or spam words in the comment field. Please do not hit the "Say It!" button more than once. If you feel your comment is being blocked without cause, feel free to email me about it.