Population Statistic: Read. React. Repeat.
Wednesday, May 03, 2021

on to the cup
Ah, nothing like first-round action to clear up that postseason picture. Now that the next set of matchups have been determined, I can present a more-or-less complete NHL playoffs schedule (with plenty of To Be Determineds, which I’ll fill in as they become determined).

So, here we go. All times EST:

UPDATE, 5/14/2006: Carolina-Buffalo pairing set for the East, with gametimes TBD; Anaheim date for the West finals set, gametimes and sites TBD once the San Jose-Edmonton series is done.

UPDATE, 5/17/2006: Edmonton shocks again, taking down the Sharks (who I figured were susceptible defensively). So it’s Anaheim-Edmonton to decide the West. Conference Finals matchups and schedules updated below, as well as the start date of the Stanley Cup Finals.

LAST UPDATE, 6/1/2006: We’re set! The Oilers shocked the world by making it all the way to the Finals, while the ‘Canes lived up to their top-seed potential. Stanley Cup round schedule below, all the way through to the if-necessary Game 7 on June 19th. After that, it’s Entry Draft time.

Conference Semifinals

EASTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 Ottawa Senators vs. No. 4 Buffalo Sabres
Game One: Fri, May 5 - Buf at Ott, 7 p.m. (OLN)
Game Two: Mon, May 8 – Buf at Ott, 7 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Wed, May 10 – Ott at Buf, 7 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Thu, May 11 – Ott at Buf, 7 p.m. (OLN)
Game Five: Sat, May 13 – Buf at Ott, 7 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Six: Mon, May 15 – Ott at Buf, 7 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Seven: Wed, May 17 – Buf at Ott, 7 p.m. (OLN)*

No. 2 Carolina Hurricanes vs. No. 3 New Jersey Devils
Game One: Sat, May 6 – NJ at Car, 2 p.m. (NBC)
Game Two: Mon, May 8 – NJ at Car, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Wed, May 10 – Car at NJ, 7 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Sat, May 13 – Car at NJ, 3 p.m. (NBC)
Game Five: Sun, May 14 – NJ at Car, 7 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Six: Tue, May 16 – Car at NJ, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Seven: Thu, May 18 – NJ at Car, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)*

WESTERN CONFERENCE

No. 5 San Jose Sharks vs. No. 8 Edmonton Oilers
Game One: Sun, May 7 – Edm at SJ, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Two: Mon, May 8 – Edm at SJ, 10:30 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Wed, May 10 – SJ at Edm, 10 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Fri, May 12 – SJ at Edm, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Five: Sun, May 14 – Edm at SJ, 10 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Six: Wed, May 17 – SJ at Edm, TBD*
Game Seven: Fri, May 19 – Edm at SJ, TBD (OLN)*

No. 6 Anaheim Mighty Ducks vs. No. 7 Colorado Avalanche
Game One: Fri, May 5 – Col at Ana, 10 p.m. (OLN)
Game Two: Sun, May 7 – Col at Ana, 3 p.m. (NBC)
Game Three: Tues, May 9 – Ana at Col, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Thurs, May 11 – Ana at Col, 10 p.m. (OLN)
Game Five: Sun, May 14 – Col at Ana, 3 p.m. (NBC)*
Game Six: Wed, May 17 – Ana at Col, TBD (OLN)*
Game Seven: Fri, May 19 – Col at Ana, TBD (OLN)*

Conference Finals

EASTERN CONFERENCE

No. 2 Carolina Hurricanes vs. No. 4 Buffalo Sabres
Game One: Sat, May 20 – Buf at Car, 2 p.m. (NBC)
Game Two: Mon, May 22 – Buf at Car, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Wed, May 24 – Car at Buf, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Fri, May 26 – Car at Buf, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)
Game Five: Sun, May 28 – Buf at Car, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Six: Tue, May 30 – Car at Buf, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Seven: Thu, Jun 1 – Buf at Car, 7:30 p.m. (OLN)*

WESTERN CONFERENCE

No. 6 Anaheim Mighty Ducks vs. No. 8 Edmonton Oilers
Game One: Fri, May 19 – Edm at Ana, 9 p.m. (OLN)
Game Two: Sun, May 21 – Edm at Ana, 9 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Tues, May 23 – Ana at Edm, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Four: Thurs, May 25 – Ana at Edm, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Five: Sat, May 27 – Edm at Ana, 9 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Six: Mon, May 29 – Ana at Edm, 8 p.m. (OLN)*
Game Seven: Wed, May 31 – Edm at Ana, 9 p.m. (OLN)*

Stanley Cup Finals

Carolina Hurricanes vs. Edmonton Oilers
Game One: Mon, Jun 5 – Edm at Car, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Two: Wed, Jun 7 – Edm at Car, 8 p.m. (OLN)
Game Three: Sat, Jun 10 – Car at Edm, 8 p.m. (NBC)
Game Four: Mon, Jun 12 – Car at Edm, 8 p.m. (NBC)
Game Five: Wed, Jun 14 – Edm at Car, 8 p.m. (NBC)*
Game Six: Sat, Jun 17 – Car at Edm, 8 p.m. (NBC)*
Game Seven: Mon, Jun 19 – Edm at Car, 8 p.m. (NBC)*

* - if necessary

Check back here as the series progress.

by Costa Tsiokos, Wed 05/03/2021 11:55:40 PM
Category: Hockey | Permalink |

Trackback this entry: Right-click and copy link
2 Feedbacks »
  1. This is going to sound dorky, but thank you for posting this stuff. As a recent MA graduate, I’ve been spending less time in front of the TV and too much time doing research to fully appreciate what’s going on in the world of NHL - almost a crime. Plus, being stuck in No-Hockey-Land (NE Ohio) it’s good to know people are still paying attention. Thanks for the info…all of it, not just the hockey bit.

    Comment by Luke Armour — 05/15/2006 @ 08:59:49 PM

  2. Not dorky at all. You’re welcome. Now go watch some hockey!

    Comment by CT — 05/15/2006 @ 11:32:33 PM

RSS feed for feedback on this post.

Leave a comment


PLEASE NOTE: Various types of comment moderation may be triggered once you hit the "Say It!" button below. Common causes for this are the inclusion of several hyperlinks and/or spam words in the comment field. Please do not hit the "Say It!" button more than once. If you feel your comment is being blocked without cause, feel free to email me about it.