Population Statistic: Read. React. Repeat.
Sunday, April 23, 2021

hoop it up
Wow, that NBA postseason really sneaks up on you, doesn’t it?

No? Well, it snuck up on me. I’m not even remotely a hoops fan, college nor pro. I doubt I’ve watched more than five minutes of National Basketball Association play this season, total. And so, while I knew from extremely incidental media consumption that the basketball playoffs were imminent, I didn’t consciously realize that they started at the same time as the NHL championship dance.

Still, when I said I’d keep a record of the major league sports playoff schedules, I meant every one of the Big Four. That means the NBA, and so I will present its schedule here.

I’m afraid I’ve run into the same impediment that I did with hockey: Because of the re-seeding that takes place, it’s pretty hard to determine next-round gametimes. Plus, the NBA has this annoying habit of starting up next-round games in instances when certain matchups have been determined, even when other current-round series are still being played out; that further muddies the waters. Therefore, I’m going to have to start off with just the first-round schedule here.

This detracts from my original intent, which was to provide dates for the complete playoffs, regardless of when the actual teams are determined. I really just wanted a one-time-published resource for when rounds begin and end, and when the last possible date for the championship game was. That’s the information I found the most frustrating to find; conversely, current-round schedules are relatively easy to find.

What I will do is update this post as subsequent rounds become set. At least that way, everything will eventually be on one easy-to-find page.

So, with that said, the schedule (all times EST):

EASTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 Detroit Pistons vs. No. 8 Milwaukee Bucks
Game One: Sun, Apr 23 - Mil at Det, 3 p.m.
Game Two: Wed, Apr 26 – Mil at Det, 7:30 p.m.
Game Three: Sat, Apr 29 – Det at Mil, 8 p.m.
Game Four: Mon, May 1 – Det at Mil, TBD
Game Five: Wed, May 3 – Mil at Det, TBD*
Game Six: Fri, May 5 – Det at Mil, TBD*
Game Seven: Sun, May 7 – Mil at Det, TBD*

No. 2 Miami Heat vs. No. 7 Chicago Bulls
Game One: Sat, Apr 22 – Chi at Mia, 7 p.m.
Game Two: Mon, Apr 24 – Chi at Mia, 8 p.m.
Game Three: Thurs, Apr 27 – Mia at Chi, 8 p.m.
Game Four: Sun, Apr 30 – Mia at Chi, 1 p.m.
Game Five: Tues, May 2 – Chi at Mia, TBD*
Game Six: Thurs, May 4 – Mia at Chi, TBD*
Game Seven: Sat, May 6 – Chi at Mia, TBD*

No. 3 New Jersey Nets vs. No. 6 Indiana Pacers
Game One: Sun, Apr 23 – Ind at NJ, 1 p.m.
Game Two: Tues, Apr 25 – Ind at NJ, 8 p.m.
Game Three: Thurs, Apr 27 – NJ at Ind, 7:30 p.m.
Game Four: Sat, Apr 29 – NJ at Ind, 3 p.m.
Game Five: Tues, May 2 – Ind at NJ, TBD*
Game Six: Thurs, May 4 – NJ at Ind, TBD*
Game Seven: Sat, May 6 – Ind at NJ, TBD*

No. 4 Cleveland Cavaliers vs. No. 5 Washington Wizards
Game One: Sat, Apr 22 – Wsh at Cle, 7 p.m.
Game Two: Tues, Apr 25 – Wsh at Cle, 7 p.m.
Game Three: Fri, Apr 28 – Cle at Wsh, 8 p.m.
Game Four: Sun, Apr 30 – Cle at Wsh, 7:30 p.m.
Game Five: Wed, May 3 – Wsh at Cle, TBD*
Game Six: Fri, May 5 – Cle at Wsh, TBD*
Game Seven: Sun, May 7 – Wsh at Cle, TBD*

WESTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 San Antonio Spurs vs. No. 8 Sacramento Kings
Game One: Sat, Apr 22 – Sac at SA, 7 p.m.
Game Two: Tues, Apr 25 – Sac at SA, 9:30 p.m.
Game Three: Fri, Apr 28 – SA at Sac, 10 p.m.
Game Four: Sun, Apr 30 – SA at Sac, 10 p.m.
Game Five: Tues, May 2 – Sac at SA, TBD*
Game Six: Fri, May 5 – SA at Sac, TBD*
Game Seven: Sun, May 7 – Sac at SA, TBD*

No. 2 Phoenix Suns vs. No. 7 Los Angeles Lakers
Game One: Sun, Apr 23 – LAL at Phx, 3:30 p.m.
Game Two: Wed, Apr 26 – LAL at Phx, 10:30 p.m.
Game Three: Fri, Apr 28 – Phx at LAL, 10:30 p.m.
Game Four: Sun, Apr 30 – Phx at LAL, 3:30 p.m.
Game Five: Tues, May 2 – LAL at Phx, TBD*
Game Six: Thurs, May 4 – Phx at LAL, TBD*
Game Seven: Sat, May 6 – LAL at Phx, TBD*

No. 3 Denver Nuggets vs. No. 6 Los Angeles Clippers
Game One: Sat, Apr 22 – Den at LAC, 8 p.m.
Game Two: Mon, Apr 24 – Den at LAC, 10:30 p.m.
Game Three: Thurs, Apr 27 – LAC at Den, 10:30 p.m.
Game Four: Sat, Apr 29 – LAC at Den, 10:30 p.m.
Game Five: Mon, May 1 – Den at LAC, TBD*
Game Six: Thurs, May 4 – LAC at Den, TBD*
Game Seven: Sat, May 6 – Den at LAC, TBD*

No. 4 Dallas Mavericks vs. No. 5 Memphis Grizzlies
Game One: Sun, Apr 23 – Mem at Dal, 9:30 p.m.
Game Two: Wed, Apr 26 – Mem at Dal, 8 p.m.
Game Three: Sat, Apr 29 – Dal at Mem, 5:30 p.m.
Game Four: Mon, May 1 – Dal at Mem, TBD
Game Five: Wed, May 3 – Mem at Dal, TBD*
Game Six: Fri, May 5 – Dal at Mem, TBD*
Game Seven: Sun, May 7 – Mem at Dal, TBD*

* - if necessary

UPDATE, 5/7/2006: Here we go. Hoops schedule for the second round Conference Semifinals (all times EST). And as a bonus, TV networks included, where known:

EASTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 Detroit Pistons vs. No. 4 Cleveland Cavaliers
Game One: Sun, May 7 - Cle at Det, 3:30 p.m. (ABC)
Game Two: Tues, May 9 – Cle at Det, 7 p.m. (TNT)
Game Three: Sat, May 13 – Det at Cle, 8 p.m. (ABC)
Game Four: Mon, May 15 – Det at Cle, 7 p.m. (TNT)
Game Five: Wed, May 17 – Cle at Det, TBD (TNT)*
Game Six: Fri, May 19 – Det at Cle, TBD (ESPN)*
Game Seven: Sun, May 21 – Cle at Det, 3:30 p.m. (ABC)*

No. 2 Miami Heat vs. No. 3 New Jersey Nets
Game One: Mon, May 8 – NJ at Mia, 8 p.m. (TNT)
Game Two: Wed, May 10 – NJ at Mia, 8 p.m. (TNT)
Game Three: Fri, May 12 – Mia at NJ, 8 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Four: Sun, May 14 – Mia at NJ, TBD
Game Five: Tues, May 16 – NJ at Mia, 8 p.m. (TNT)*
Game Six: Thurs, May 18 – Mia at NJ, 8 p.m. (ESPN)*
Game Seven: Sun, May 21 – NJ at Mia, TBD*

WESTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 San Antonio Spurs vs. No. 4 Dallas Mavericks
Game One: Sun, May 7 – Dal at SA, 1 p.m. (ABC)
Game Two: Tues, May 9 – Dal at SA, 9:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Three: Sat, May 13 – SA at Dal, 5 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Four: Mon, May 15 – SA at Dal, 9:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Five: Wed, May 17 – Dal at SA, TBD (TNT)*
Game Six: Fri, May 19 – SA at Dal, TBD (ESPN)*
Game Seven: Mon, May 22 – Dal at SA, TBD (TNT)*

No. 2 Phoenix Suns vs. No. 6 Los Angeles Clippers
Game One: Mon, May 8 – LAC at Phx, 10:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Two: Wed, May 10 – LAC at Phx, 10:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Three: Fri, May 12 – Phx at LAC, 10:30 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Four: Sun, May 14 – Phx at LAC, TBD
Game Five: Tues, May 16 – LAC at Phx, TBD*
Game Six: Thurs, May 18 – Phx at LAC, TBD*
Game Seven: Mon, May 22 – LAC at Phx, TBD*

* - if necessary

UPDATE, 5/21/2006: Well, half the Conference Finals are set. I’ll go ahead and post the schedule for the Eastern showdown; the West will be determined tomorrow.

Conference Finals

EASTERN CONFERENCE

No. 1 Detroit Pistons vs. No. 2 Miami Heat
Game One: Tues, May 23 - Mia at Det, 8 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Two: Thurs, May 25 – Mia at Det, 8 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Three: Sat, May 27 – Det at Mia, 8 p.m. (ESPN)
Game Four: Mon, May 29 – Det at Mia, 8 p.m. (ABC)
Game Five: Wed, May 31 – Mia at Det, 8 p.m. (ESPN)*
Game Six: Fri, Jun 2 – Det at Mia, 8 p.m. (ESPN)*
Game Seven: Sun, Jun 4 – Mia at Det, 8 p.m. (ABC)*

WESTERN CONFERENCE

No. 2 Phoenix Suns vs. No. 4 Dallas Mavericks
Game One: Wed, May 24 – Phx at Dal, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Two: Fri, May 26 – Phx at Dal, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Three: Sun, May 28 – Dal at Phx, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)
Game Four: Tues, May 30 – Dal at Phx, 9 p.m. (TNT)
Game Five: Thurs, Jun 1 – Phx at Dal, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)*
Game Six: Sat, Jun 3 – Dal at Phx, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)*
Game Seven: Mon, Jun 5 – Phx at Dal, 8:30 p.m. (TNT)*

* - if necessary

LAST UPDATE, 6/2/2006: Both Conference Finals series are locked at 3-2 as of this writing, but regardless of who comes out alive — and when — the Finals date/time schedule for the next round is set. Actual sites, including which Conference gets home-court advantage, is still TBD. I’ll post what’s now known, and fill in the blanks as soon as this round’s winners come through.

REALLY LAST UPDATE, 6/3/2006: Shaq carried the Heat into its first-ever Finals last night, so we now know what we need to know to complete the rest of the schedule. I’ll put the final touch on it whenever the Dallas-Phoenix series ends (tonight or on Monday).

I’m surprised that the NBA is doing the 2-3-2 series format for the Finals; all previous playoff rounds were the more traditional 2-2-1-1-1. But that’s the size of it.

NBA Finals

Miami Heat vs. Dallas Mavericks
Game One: Thurs, Jun 8 - Mia at Dal, 9 p.m. (ABC)
Game Two: Sun, Jun 11 – Mia at Dal, 9 p.m. (ABC)
Game Three: Tues, Jun 13 – Dal at Mia, 9 p.m. (ABC)
Game Four: Thurs, Jun 15 – Dal at Mia, 9 p.m. (ABC)
Game Five: Sun, Jun 18 – Dal at Mia, 9 p.m. (ABC)*
Game Six: Tues, Jun 20 – Mia at Dal, 9 p.m. (ABC)*
Game Seven: Thurs, Jun 22 – Mia at Dal, 9 p.m. (ABC)*

* - if necessary

by Costa Tsiokos, Sun 04/23/2006 11:44:11 PM
Category: Basketball | Permalink |

Trackback this entry: Right-click and copy link
Feedback »
Leave a comment


PLEASE NOTE: Various types of comment moderation may be triggered once you hit the "Say It!" button below. Common causes for this are the inclusion of several hyperlinks and/or spam words in the comment field. Please do not hit the "Say It!" button more than once. If you feel your comment is being blocked without cause, feel free to email me about it.